We are a cooperative working in the field of cultural urbanism: we use art as our modus operandi to work with local populations and on a regional planning level. We develop strategies for how sites will be used, and are involved in planning, consultation, programming and regional strategy, setting up contextualised and contributory artistic programmes with local residents, users and stakeholders. Our aim is to effect a long-lasting and structural impact to enhance the region, sociability, and public policy.

In collaboration with our associate artists and other partners, we create tools to work with local populations and to broaden the context of art. We prefer to conduct fieldwork rather than diagnoses, to create prototypes rather than give speeches, to promote the notion of contribution rather than participation, of shared interest rather than general interest, of experimentation rather than any long-term plan of action. We are convinced that urban planning can be enriched by a diversity of visions and approaches. We are also convinced that artists have much to gain by experimenting with these ever-changing environments and being involved in creating art that is useful to society and serves the places where it is installed. The fact that we are structured as a cooperative reflects our commitment to social and economic innovation and modes of shared governance. We have offices in Paris and Rennes and most of our projects are based in these regions.

References
Press dossier
Latest newsletter

Who are we?

Alexandra Cohen

Alexandra is a producer of contemporary art events, with degrees in ethnology, cultural project management, and modern literature. Deeply committed to questions surrounding art and politics, in 2013/2014 she studied artistic and political experimentation at Sciences Po in Paris, on a course created by Bruno Latour. Before founding Cuesta, she spent ten years working at the production company Arter, where she produced and organised many exhibitions and art productions, frequently in public spaces.

alexandra[at]cuesta.fr

Agathe Ottavi

Agathe is a trained urbanist, with degrees in modern literature and cultural project management, and an expert on issues of art, culture, and urbanism. She is a passionate cyclist and committed to all forms of cooperative ideals. In 2013/2014 she participated in an I-team training on cultural, economic and social dynamics in Europe run by Relais Culture Europe, Paris. Before setting up Cuesta, she was involved in Dédale, a project bringing together art and technology across different regions. She also developed a cultural development hub for the Arter production company, where she was responsible for organising advisory panels for major development projects.

agathe[at]cuesta.fr

Ludivine Lucas

A cultural engineer by training, Ludivine studied at the Beaux-Arts school in Rennes and at the Institute of European Studies. She is passionate about cartography, infographics, illustration and blueprints of all kinds. She has worked for the last ten years with artists and collectives on artistic urban planning projects, including Tamèrantong!, OCUS, and Si tu t’imagines.

ludivine[at]cuesta.fr

Cultural mediators, urbanists, graphic designers, managers, builders, translators, photographers: these are the people who currently, or in the past, have been involved in the cooperative:

Léa Martinent, Flavia Nowik, Noé Talmont, Camille Prigent, Manon Pestel, Pauline Olmedo, Léa Finot, Jordi Frances, Aurélie Lemaître, Mathilde Godart, Johanne De Place, Virginie Redois, Stéphanie Braka, Valentin Delaunay, Véronique Villedieu, Alice Pfeiffer, Gwen Le Goff, Juliette Cadic, Mélanie Aumont, Olivier Borde, Flavie Tertrais, Fabien Gougeon, Benjamin Marie, Natan Kerbellec, Anna Michalak, Natasha Lehrer, Nathan Kerbellec, Elsa Noblet, Juliette Maroni.

Associate artists

Maïda Chavak, Nil Dinç, Alexis Fichet, Sylvain Gouraud, Axel Meunier et Léa Muller have been closely involved for the last five years in the cooperative’s projects. With their help, we have developed tools and strategies, and brought to fruition fertile collaborations.

Maida

A set designer by training, Maïda creates things out of images: exhibitions, publications, games, educational games, stories, rural and urban installations, and even occasionally tombolas. In the different places where her work is displayed, her assemblages form a portrait of the sites and the ways they are used, bringing together documentation, knowledge of the terrain, and an immersion in visual, local and family archives.

Nil Dinç

Nil is a theatre director who coordinates the group of artists and researchers who make up GONGLE, whose work involves reconsidering the functions and modes of making theatre by creating spaces for dialogue and confrontation, in ways that are both contextual and experimental. Focusing particularly on the links between art and sport, GONGLE is behind the initiative that set up the art-sport network in Seine St Denis.

Axel Meunier

As a doctoral student in design at Goldsmiths, a researcher at the medialab at Sciences Po, and an artist, Axel’s practice is articulated around his involvement in several collectives. His work explores joint research situations using diagrams and maps, the design of collaborative workshops, sound recording and social media, in order to integrate new narratives, as part of the creation of new site-specific collectives.

Alexis Fichet

A writer and director, Alexis is a founder-member of the collective Lumière d’août. His writing interrogates the relationship between humans, the animals around them, and the environment. Alongside his writing and theatre, he develops hybrid projects that blend art, sculpture and performance.

Sylvain Gouraud

At the crossroads where art and social sciences meet, Sylvain’s practice is based on using photography as a means of investigation. He takes deep dives into different social milieus in order to construct, in collaboration with local stakeholders, a just and fair representation of the complex issues under examination.
Deeply concerned by the urgency of reformulating our relationship with nature, he anticipates practices in which human beings need to negotiate their place on earth with non-humans.

Léa Muller

A trained landscape designer, Léa experiments with the discursive production of new ways of creating towns and regions through a practice that is close to craft, focused on experimentation, and pays close attention to modes of representation, notably through drawing and mapping.

Nous sommes une coopérative d’urbanisme culturel : nous mobilisons l’artistique comme un mode opératoire pour agir dans le champ des territoires et des sociétés. Nous intervenons sur des enjeux de maîtrise d’usage, de préfiguration, de concertation, de programmation et stratégie territoriale en mettant en place des démarches artistiques contextualisées et contributives avec les habitants, usagers et acteurs. Nous cherchons ainsi à créer des effets durables et structurants sur la valorisation des territoires, la sociabilité et les politiques publiques.

Avec les artistes associés et d’autres partenaires, nous inventons des outils pour agir sur les territoires et les sociétés et ouvrir les cadres de l’art. Nous préférons les formes d’enquête aux diagnostics, les prototypes aux longs discours, la contribution à la participation, l’intérêt commun à l’intérêt général, l’expérimentation aux plans d’actions pluriannuels. Nous sommes convaincues que les modes de faire les territoires peuvent être enrichis par une diversité de regards et d’approches. Nous sommes aussi convaincues que les artistes ont à gagner à se frotter à ces contextes en mutation et à participer à un art utile à la société et aux territoires sur lesquels il prend place. Notre structuration en SCOP reflète notre engagement en faveur de l’innovation sociale et économique et des modes de gouvernance partagés. Nous sommes installées à Paris et à Rennes et concentrons notre action sur ces deux grands territoires.

Dossier de référence
Lire notre Newsletter #7

Qui sommes-nous?

Alexandra Cohen

Productrice en art contemporain, agrégée en lettres modernes, diplômée en ethnologie et gestion de projets culturels, étudiante en 2013/2014 du programme d’expérimentation en arts et politiques à Sciences-Po
créé par Bruno Latour. Elle est passionnée par les questions d’art et politique. Pendant 10 ans, au sein de l’agence de production Arter, elle produit et met en œuvre de nombreuses expositions et manifestations artistiques notamment dans l’espace public. Elle est co-fondatrice de Cuesta en 2015 et directrice de projets associée.

alexandra[at]cuesta.fr

Agathe Ottavi

Urbaniste, diplômée en lettres modernes et gestion de projets culturels, spécialiste des problématiques art, culture, urbanisme, grande adepte du vélo et de la coopération sous toutes ses formes. Elle a suivi en 2013/2014 la formation I-team sur les dynamiques culturelles, économiques et sociales en Europe auprès du Relais Culture Europe, Paris. Avant de créer Cuesta, elle participe à l’émergence de Dédale, association hybridant l’art, les technologies et les territoires, puis développe un pôle d’aménagement culturel au sein de l’agence Arter pour laquelle elle conduit des missions de conseils sur des grands projets d’aménagement. Elle est co-fondatrice de Cuesta en 2015 et directrice de projets associée.

agathe[at]cuesta.fr

Ludivine Lucas

Ingénieure culturelle formée aux Beaux-Arts de Rennes et à l’Institut d’études européennes, inconditionnelle de cartographies, infographies, illustrations et schémas en tous genres. Pendant dix ans, elle accompagne des artistes et des collectifs sur des projets artistiques de territoire comme Tamèrantong!, OCUS, Si tu t’imagines. Elle rejoint Cuesta en 2018 en tant que chargée de mission.

ludivine[at]cuesta.fr

Médiatrices culturelles, urbanistes, graphistes, régisseuses, constructrices, traductrices, photographes, ils et elles participent ou ont participé à la coopérative :

Léa Martinent, Flavia Nowik, Noé Talmont, Camille Prigent, Manon Pestel, Pauline Olmedo, Léa Finot, Jordi Frances, Aurélie Lemaître, Mathilde Godart, Johanne De Place, Virginie Redois, Stéphanie Braka, Valentin Delaunay, Véronique Villedieu, Alice Pfeiffer, Gwen Le Goff, Juliette Cadic, Mélanie Aumont, Olivier Borde, Flavie Tertrais, Fabien Gougeon, Benjamin Marie, Natan Kerbellec, Anna Michalak, Natasha Lehrer, Nathan Kerbellec, Elsa Noblet, Juliette Maroni.

Les artistes associés

Maïda Chavak, Nil Dinç, Alexis Fichet, Sylvain Gouraud, Axel Meunier et Léa Muller participent depuis cinq ans aux projets de la coopérative. Ensemble, nous avons développé des outils et des collaborations fructueuses.

Maïda Chavak

Scénographe de formation, Maïda bricole des images, des expositions, des éditions, des jeux, des dispositifs pédagogiques, des récits, des installations champêtres ou plus urbaines et parfois, des tombolas. Au fil des territoires, ses assemblages font portrait, décrivent des lieux et leurs usages, en associant un travail de documentation et une pratique de terrain, des plongées dans des archives visuelles, locales ou familiales.

Son site

Nil Dinç

Entre-metteuse en scène, Nil coordonne le groupe d’artistes et de chercheurs GONGLE qui travaille à repenser les fonctions et modes de fabrication du théâtre en créant des espaces de dialogue et de confrontation, des formes contextuelles et expérimentales. GONGLE travaille particulièrement les liens entre art et sport, le groupe est à l’initiative du réseau art-sport dans le 93.

Site de Gongle

Axel Meunier

Doctorant en design à Goldsmiths, chercheur associé au médialab de Sciences Po et artiste, Axel développe sa pratique à travers la participation à différents collectifs. Il expérimente des situations collectives de recherche en utilisant les diagrammes et cartographies, le design d'ateliers collaboratifs, l'enregistrement sonore, ou encore les réseaux sociaux, pour accueillir la production de nouveaux récits et accompagner la création de collectifs situés.

Alexis Fichet

Auteur et metteur en scène, Alexis est membre fondateur du collectif Lumière d’août. Son travail d’écriture questionne le rapport de l’homme aux animaux qui l’entourent et à son environnement. Aux côtés du travail d’écriture et de plateau, il développe des projets hybrides proches des arts plastiques et de la performance.

Site de Lumière d'août

Sylvain Gouraud

À la croisée des arts et des sciences humaines, la pratique de Sylvain se base sur l’enquête à travers la photographie. Il s’immerge dans différents milieux pour construire avec les acteurs concernés une représentation juste d’enjeux complexes. Concerné par l’urgence de repenser notre rapport à la nature, il va au-devant des pratiques où l’homme négocie sa place avec les non-humains.

Son site

Léa Muller

Paysagiste de formation, Léa expérimente avec Itinérances de nouveaux modes de production de la ville et des territoires à travers une pratique située proche de l’artisanat et misant sur l’expérimentation, et une attention forte aux modes de représentation notamment à travers le dessin et la cartographie.

Site d'Itinérances